An unusual collector

 
 
She sits under the starry sky
Every night,
Delicate, smelling of jasmine,
To collect, she says,
The moonlight.
 
 
 
Is it not unusual, I ask,
To collect moonlight?
How and where, pray,
Do you keep it?
 
 
Her annoyance,
And her answer,
Was brief:
 
‘Some collect wealth,
Others, trophies of their successes.
For me, collecting moonlight works.
I collect it in my heart
Along with the memories
Of the pleasant nights spent
Basking in the moonlight.’
 
I do not know
What to make of this statement.
 
Though I trust those innocent eyes
And would rather not doubt
Her guileless conviction,
I think I would better leave it to you
To draw your own conclusion,
One way or the other,
In this strange affair.
 
***
About Abhishek

I will let the blog speak for itself...or, at times, for me. View all posts by Abhishek

5 responses to “An unusual collector

Do you agree? Please Leave a Reply

