Wish-list of a modern rebel

(1)
I need the prison bars
To clang the metal plates;
I need the unjust laws
To rebel against.
 
(2)
I need a social order
To shake my finger at;
I need a structure, a system
To rebel against.
 
(3)
I need an ideology
That rages against injustice-
I need the grand symbols
To rebel against.
 
(4)
I would like to have a dictator
Or at least a strong leader-
I can even use a weak democracy
To rebel against.
 
(5)
I need the stories of the exploited
(I know none of the poor);
I need the cutouts of exploiters
To rebel against.
 
(6)
I need printed placards and tattoos
I need a huge public square;
I also need a few tanks
To rebel against.
 
(7)
I need glittering glass buildings
That reflects a magnified me;
I need a working economy
To rebel against.
 
(8)
I need the media, biased and vulgar,
I need the police, armed with batons;
And I also need the barricades
To rebel against.
 
(9)
I need a person who loves
To absorb all my hates;
I need a doting dad
To rebel against.
 
(10)
I need sandwich, and coke
And a home to come back to;
I need a system that listens
To rebel against.
 
(11)
I need the best education
To tell me all about freedom;
I need the pillars of the University
To rebel against.
 
(12)
I need the Barista to plan the rally
I need good Nike shoes;
I need the multinationals
To rebel against.
 
(13)
I know not how the tribals live
I know not the extent of their trials;
I need the forest laws on the net
To rebel against.
 
(14)
I need a crowd, a rally,
Full of guys, filled with rage;
I need the orators to tell me
What to rebel against.
 
(15)
I need the street-lights
To smash to smithereens;
I need public property
To rebel against.
 
(16)
I will rage against the Americans
Till I get the Green-card;
Till then it will be the Greenbacks
That I will rebel against.
 
(17)
I need a father to print money
Though I do not know how;
All I need is his sense of guilt
To rebel against.
 
(18)
I know not who makes the laws, or why
But I do know my Rousseau;
I know that the laws are made
To rebel against.
 
***
 
About Abhishek

I will let the blog speak for itself...or, at times, for me. View all posts by Abhishek

Do you agree? Please Leave a Reply

