I don’t want to be a hero

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I don’t want to be a hero
I don’t want to lead.
I squeak from my hole
Deep inside the wall
And that, only when I know,
I might not be heard.
 
I don’t want to be a hero
I can never be one.
I shed a tear, or two,
When no one is around,
And I worry, I might burn my hand
–   I have very delicate hands.
 
I don’t want to be a hero
Bad things happen to them.
I wait for the crowds to gather
And wait to see if they will win,
And then, out of the hole I come
And softly say, ‘they are all rogues.’
 
I don’t want to be a hero
I have seen so many fall.
Some lacked the courage, like me,
To see their hands burn; some
Put up a price tag, the rest…
Were never heard of again.
 
I don’t want to be a hero
I have no grievance.
I respect all the laws
And all those that will be made
And all those that are there, but not made,
And all those that are there to be flouted.
 
I don’t want to be a hero
Don’t drag me out of the hole.
I do not want to live in palaces
Or to turn out those who do,
I do not want to live in the fields
Where rabbits shiver and foxes dispute the hounds.
 
I don’t want to be a hero
I swear on the name of God.
I have delicate hands, and I worry,
I will burn them so. The stench
In my hole is bearable, and your mock,
That I am a coward, is silly.
 
***
About Abhishek

I will let the blog speak for itself...or, at times, for me. View all posts by Abhishek

4 responses to “I don’t want to be a hero

Do you agree? Please Leave a Reply

