Let my eyes be your mirror

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You stand before the mirror
Making faces at it, as I watch you
Hiding yourself, beneath
The layers of makeup.
 
Next, you struggle to choose
Between the two dresses.
You spend hours, deciding
On just the right shade.
 
Hours later, the room’s a mess;
Lots of dresses, cosmetics,
And accessories lie littered
Like bodies in a battlefield.
 
My blank look is misleading.
It wants to say, that you look
Just as heavenly, as bewitching
As you did hours ago.
 
I know you would not believe me
If I tell you that you looked
As perfect without the mascara
Or the lipstick, or the trinkets.
 
It would be futile to tell you
That God has already chiseled
Your cheeks, your lips, your chin
To perfection.
 
That no amount of heady perfumes
Or gold or gems, can add luster
To your charms, or make you
More angelic than you are.
 
Now see, you wasted hours
Trying to improve upon perfection.
If only you had looked in my eyes
You would have known the truth.
 
***
About Abhishek

I will let the blog speak for itself...or, at times, for me. View all posts by Abhishek

2 responses to “Let my eyes be your mirror

Do you agree? Please Leave a Reply

