The Sham Ruler

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The world loves and hates me
I am the sham,
That rules the world.

 

Few can emulate me, though
Many try. Few can match
My hypocrisy.

 

I am the matrix, the simulacrum
I am the goal, the dream
That you always dream.

 

I am the image you want to see
When you look, hopefully,
At the mirror.

 

I am the fashion statement
I am the chimera, the glitter
That dazzles you.

 

I am greedy, self-obsessed
The world pays homage
To my confidence.

 

I am corrupt, I am a leech
I have mastered the art
Of being your master.

 

I am the hunter. I prey
On your hard work and dreams.
I own success.

 

Though you may rant and rave
You don’t have the gumption
To call my bluff.

 

I am the self declared success
That you cannot question
With your cowardice.

 

I am flexible, I am a chameleon.
I change and chop myself –
And you can’t.

 

My cowardice is a strategy
My survival is the key –
The brave die for me.

 

I get you the weapons
For my battles. I negotiate
Over dead bodies.

 

I snatch, I steal and I always
Get my way. And anyways –
I make the laws.

 

I have the banks, the money.
And when I have don’t
I print more.

 

I have no friends, no enemies
I am loyal to none –
Save myself.

 

***

 

About Abhishek

I will let the blog speak for itself...or, at times, for me. View all posts by Abhishek

One response to “The Sham Ruler

Do you agree? Please Leave a Reply

